what do you drive?

This is a area for non canna hobbies and interests to be discussed.
duke
Respected Member

what do you drive?

Post by duke »

hi all some of you may recall i am a retired mechanic due to a motorbike accident involving a 4x4 and broke both arms and shattered the bones in my right hand since then mechanics has as you can imagine been a struggle!
but during the first lockdown my old peugeot 406 died a spectacular death after a cooling hose a metal one burst in the middle of southend town centre :bang head: i attempted a roadside repair and as i had the daughter and sprogs in the car ijust had to get them back to my house in sussex and so had to ignore the billowing steam and temp gauge off the scale,stopped several times and refilled but leak by now is massive,all manner of horrid noises coming from the engine but within 10 miles of home and not stopping! shortly after the servo died for the brakes so now im down to just the handbrake for last 5 miles all through the town centre,got to my house and stopped and engine siezed solid and was truly deceased!
so now ive the kids here for a week and no car to go out or take them home,so had to find another cheap car quickly that was legal,not easy done here as the locals seem to think there cars are worth twice there actual value :ak:
ended up bidding on an old 1994 volvo 850 estate with 5 cylinder twin cam 10valve engine 2.5ltr 154000 miles on the clock (this is nothing for a volvo) no service history and some more obvious faults like rear lights and headlamps etc being worn out and faded,awful paintwork with laquer peeling and general lack of maintenance.
paid £600 for it and since then i been restoring it,
fitted 2nd hand rear lights for £40 from breakers and from slightly more modern volvo v70 and have better lenses,removed and reconditioned headlamps myself now perfect cost about £10 :clap: